The UW Systems and Networks seminar invites key researchers from academia and industry to cover a range of topics spanning networking, operating systems, distributed systems, mobile and wireless systems.

Our seminars are held on Wednesdays at 1:30pm in CSE305.

When possible we will provide a video recording and slides of the talks.

Date Speaker Title Slides Video
17 Jan Pengyu Zhang
Stanford
pyzhang@cs.stanford.edu
Enabling low-power communication for IoT devices Slides
07 Feb Andrew Baumann
Microsoft Research
baumann@microsoft.com
Komodo: Using verification to disentangle secure-enclave hardware from software Slides
14 Feb Anirudh Sivaraman
NYU
anirudh@cs.nyu.edu
Designing fast and programmable routers Slides
21 Feb Chuanxiong Guo
Bytedance
guochuangxiong@bytedance.com
RDMA in data centers: from cloud computing to machine learning
28 Feb Chuanxiong Guo
Bytedance
guochuangxiong@bytedance.com
Toward highly-available cloud systems
07 Mar Amar Phanishayee
Microsoft Research
amar@microsoft.com
28 Mar Lili Qiu
UT Austin
lili@cs.utexas.edu
Motion tracking and its application
04 Apr Jon Howell
Google
jonh@jonh.net
Slicer: Auto-Sharding for Datacenter Applications
11 Apr Vijay Chidambaram
UT Austin
vijay@cs.utexas.edu
12 Apr Mothy Roscoe
ETH Z├╝rich
troscoe@inf.ethz.ch
Enzian: Research Computer
13 Apr Keith Winstein
Stanford
keithw@stanford.edu
Tiny functions for codecs, compilation, and (maybe) soon everything
23 May Simon Peter
UT Austin
simon@cs.utexas.edu
30 May Nirupam Roy
UIUC
nroy8@illinois.edu