The UW Systems and Networks seminar invites key researchers from academia and industry to cover a range of topics spanning networking, operating systems, distributed systems, mobile and wireless systems.

Our seminars are held on Wednesdays at 1:30pm in CSE305 unless specified otherwise.

When possible we will provide a video recording and slides of the talks.

2018-2019

Date Speaker Title Slides Video
17 Oct Deepak Bansal
Microsoft
dbansal@microsoft.com
Container networking – challenges, landscape (CNI/CNCF, Istio etc) and Microsoft’s solution for container networking
24 Oct Sambhrama Mundkur
Microsoft
sammun@microsoft.com
Accelerated Networking in Azure
31 Oct Mathias Lecuyer
Columbia
mathias@cs.columbia.edu
7 Nov Weidong Cui
Microsoft Research
weidong.cui@microsoft.com
14 Nov Dan Berger
Carnegie Mellon
dsberger@cmu.edu
5 Dec Jitu Padhye
Microsoft Research
padhye@microsoft.com

2017-2018

Date Speaker Title Slides Video
17 Jan Pengyu Zhang
Stanford
pyzhang@cs.stanford.edu
Enabling low-power communication for IoT devices Slides Video
07 Feb Andrew Baumann
Microsoft Research
baumann@microsoft.com
Komodo: Using verification to disentangle secure-enclave hardware from software Slides Video
14 Feb Anirudh Sivaraman
NYU
anirudh@cs.nyu.edu
Designing fast and programmable routers Slides Video
21 Feb Chuanxiong Guo
Bytedance
guochuangxiong@bytedance.com
RDMA in data centers: from cloud computing to machine learning Slides Video
28 Feb Chuanxiong Guo
Bytedance
guochuangxiong@bytedance.com
Toward highly-available cloud systems Slides
07 Mar Amar Phanishayee
Microsoft Research
amar@microsoft.com
Project Fiddle: Fast and Efficient Infrastructure for Distributed Deep Learning Slides
28 Mar Lili Qiu
UT Austin
lili@cs.utexas.edu
Motion tracking and its application
04 Apr Jon Howell
Google
jonh@jonh.net
Slicer: Auto-Sharding for Datacenter Applications Slides
11 Apr Vijay Chidambaram
UT Austin
vijay@cs.utexas.edu
PebblesDB: Building Key-Value Stores using Fragmented Log-Structured Merge Trees
12 Apr Mothy Roscoe
ETH Zürich
troscoe@inf.ethz.ch
Enzian: Research Computer
12 Apr Ihsan Ayyub Qazi
Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS)
ihsan.qazi@lums.edu.pk
Understanding Internet Access in the Developing World
13 Apr Keith Winstein
Stanford
keithw@stanford.edu

Tiny functions for codecs, compilation, and (maybe) soon everything
9 May Tom Bergan, Michael Buettner, Ben Greenstein
Google
tombergan@google.com
buettner@google.com
bengr@google.edu
Delivering a performant mobile web to the next billion users
16 May Luis Irun-Briz
Microsoft
luibriz@microsoft.com
The Distance to Flaws Slides
23 May Simon Peter
UT Austin
simon@cs.utexas.edu
Cross Media File Storage with Strata
30 May Nirupam Roy
UIUC
nroy8@illinois.edu
Internet of Acoustic Things (IoAT): Challenges, Opportunities, and Threats
13 June Marco Canini
KAUST
marco@kaust.edu.sa
Taming the Cloud Tail Latency Monster
14 June Riku Jäntti
Aalto University
riku.jantti@aalto.fi
Quantum Backscatter Communications